Calumet City

Fire Department

The department currently has 50 career fire personnel including the Fire Chief, Deputy Fire Chief, six Captains, three Lieutenants, nine Engineers and 30 Firefighters. Most members are also paramedics operating under the guidance of the Ingalls Hospital Emergency Medical Services System. Many members also participate in specialty rescue teams including, Hazardous Materials, Technical Rescue, and Dive Teams.

The Department is a member of MABAS (Mutual Aid Box Alarm System) Division 24 and the Third Fire District, which consists of 22 municipalities. These departments along with others provide mutual aid to Calumet City in the event of large incidents. The Village of South Holland, Village of Dolton or Village of Lansing Fire Departments provide automatic-aid on structure fires. The department runs approximately 8000 calls per year out of two stations.





Non-Emergency Phone (708) 891-8145

Apparatus includes:

Station One
Pierce Pumper
Horton Ambulance
2 Ford Expeditions-Chief¹s Cars

684 Wentworth Avenue
Calumet City, IL 60409

Station Two
Pierce Pumper
HME/Ferrara  Reserve Rescue Pumper
Horton Ambulance
Medtec Ambulance
Medtec Reserve Ambulance
Pierce Aerial Tower
Pierce Squad

1270 Pulaski Road
Calumet City, IL 60409


Glenn Bachert
Fire Chief


Pete Bendinelli
Deputy Chief